Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Official Home of Mars Hill Lion Athletics

Carrigan nets five versus Railsplitters

Carrigan nets five versus Railsplitters

HARROGATE, Tenn. - The Mars Hill men's lacrosse team (2-6, 0-4 SAC) fell to Lincoln Memorial (3-6, 1-2 SAC) by a score of 21-15 in South Atlantic Conference play Wednesday afternoon.

Tied at one after 2:25, the Railsplitters went on a 3-0 run to go up 4-1 with under 10 minutes left in the first frame.  Both Kyle Acuri and Ian Cook recorded a goal and an assist.  Mars Hill's Zac Carrigan scored all three Lions' goals in the frame.

In the highest scoring quarter of the game, the Railsplitters outscored Mars Hill 6-5 to enter the half with an 11-8lead.  Jackson Courson scored the opening goal of the frame to pull Mars Hill within one, but a string of four straight goals by Lincoln Memorial expanded their lead to five goals.  The Lions scored four of the last six goals of the half, two from the stick of Spencer Andrews.

With a similar start to the second stanza, Mars Hill struck first in the third, scoring twice to cut the deficit to one, 11-10, before the Railsplitters reeled off three straight goals to reestablish their four-goal lead.  The teams traded two goals apiece in the final 6:45 with Lions' tallies coming from Connor Fernandes and Jake Trafton.  Acuri netted both markers for the Railsplitters.

The Lions clawed within three on two separate occasions in the final quarter, but were unable to complete their comeback effort.  Trafton, Carrigan and Tremain Hill scored the three Lions' goals in the final 15 minutes.

Cook led all players with nine points (5g, 4a) followed by Acuri's eight (5g, 3a).  Carrigan led the Lions with six points (5g, 1a) followed by Courson (3g, 1a) and Trafton's (2g, 2a) four points.

Trenton Cameron made 10 saves in the win while Joel Borman set a new career-high with 22 saves in the loss.

Mars Hill returns home to host Chowan in non-conference play on Tuesday, March 26th inside the Ammons Family Athletic Center and Meares Stadium.  Action is slated for a 4 p.m. start.